Live Tweeting Super Bowl LI

This past Sunday was Super Bowl 51, and I have to say, it was a wild game. It was honestly my first time actually live tweeting an event that didn’t involve me sitting on the couch watching Space Jam and tossing handfuls of chips at my face (as awesome as that is). I’m still torn on how I feel about live tweeting events that I’m really interested in. On the one hand, it was pretty cool to follow along with others who were tweeting #SB51 and see their thoughts in real time. It was a community, rallied around what was happening who I could engage with from hundreds of miles away. My biggest problem was that I was taking away from the moment and my engagement with others in the room. Maybe since I’m new to this live tweeting thing, I’m not experienced in how I interact with others in the room while also maintaining my live tweeting. Honestly, it’s not something I’m all that concerned with but nevertheless a potentially valuable skill.

I found myself more focused on analyzing the game in my own way because in some way I thought that my tweets could potentially be seen by thousands and I wanted to provide something to the conversation. Normally I’m just sitting on the couch watching the game silently, but now I’m spreading those thoughts through Twitter in the hopes that ESPN sees my comments and invites me to host a new segment during prime time. So while my concerns about detracting from the experience for myself my dissuade me from live tweeting an event I find particularly important, by having obscene numbers of people tweeting about an event, you create a stronger community around that event for people who can’t be there physically.

I’ve compiled some tweets (mostly my own) from the night of the Super Bowl below to show the highs and lows from that night.

Photo Credit: houstonmatter.org

2 thoughts on “Live Tweeting Super Bowl LI

  1. It can be a problem trying to live tweet and interact with those around you. I know during my live tweet I was missing the looks on the clients faces as they were interacting with the K-9 Unit because I was tweeting.
    You definitely can create a strong community through live tweeting but for the game you could create an even greater rivalry. Especially, since the game was so unpredictable and emotions were going crazy for fans.

    Like

  2. I agree with the statement you said at the end. By live tweeting an event, those who cannot physically be their get to become a part of a bigger conversation, a bigger community. But when it came to tweeting or actually watching the event, I found myself scrolling through the millions of tweets that my event provided rather than watching what was going on. I wasn’t engaging with those around me. I was to busy with my phone. This was our first time Live Tweeting an event so, with more practice, I think we will get better at it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

